Case study

Plasto/Adhex
Logo Adhex
Company
Description
PLASTO was a subsidiary of Laboratoires FOURNIER specializing in the design and manufacture of technical adhesives mainly for industrial applications. The company had a turnover of 85€M with an EBITDA close to 0.

Located on the historic site of Fournier Laboratories in Chenôve (Côte d’Or, Burgundy, France), the company employed 450 people.

Considered non-strategic, the Fournier Laboratories Group made the decision to separate from this subsidiary, with the main objective to identify a serious and robust buyer in order to ensure the sustainability of the activity and the jobs.

Investment
Context
The Excelrise team positioned itself very early by directly approaching the Le Lous family, owner of Laboratoires Fournier, in order to formulate a proposal to resume Plasto’s activity as part of a carve out. Besides the in-depth analysis of the activity of the company and its assets, the main stake of the operation lay in the clipping of the different functions of the company.

The analysis carried out by the team highlighted the following points:
 

  • Since Plasto’s activity being considered non-strategic by the Fournier group, it suffered from insufficient managerial involvement;
  • Plasto benefited from services provided by the Fournier Group (such as accounting, information systems, human resources management) which appeared oversized and often unsuited to the real needs of an SME with a turnover of € 80 million business;
  • Yet the company’s markets had grown over the previous 5 years, between 3 and 4% per year;
  • Finally, the company benefited from international locations and valuable patents.
  • The entrepreneurial approach adopted by the team was found the best by the Le Lous family. An agreement on the operational and financial conditions of the operation was quickly reached. It included an upfront payment and an earn out. The carve out was therefore carried out in February 2003.
  • The company then posted negative EBITDA of more than € 2m.
Transformation
Strategy and Excelrise
Team Role
The first actions undertaken by the team aimed at adjusting the organizational costs of the company while developing a plan for the involvement of all employees based on (i) total transparency in social dialogue and (ii) a direct interest in improving the performance of the company.

At the same time, numerous reorganization measures were taken, such as the implementation of support functions adapted to the needs and size of the company (information system, finance, HR, etc.), structuring of the product range, revitalization. R&D, reducing the industrial complexity of the company and replacing certain key positions.

Results
After the first 12 months following the carve out, the company had returned to profit.

The mobilization of all employees and the development of a corporate culture based on entrepreneurship, autonomy and responsibility was decisive and then led to a new phase of expansion. In particular, the efforts devoted since the acquisition to R&D and the structuring of the product range led to the successful development of the BtoC activities with mass retailers.

This branch of activity was sold in 2010 to the main competitor, the 3M group, in excellent conditions.

In 2013, the group (renamed Adhex) was bought in LMBO by a member of the Excelrise team, Roland de la Brosse, who held the position of General Manager and who is currently the CEO of the company whose activity is flourishing.

Contact us

10 + 15 =

30 Rue de Lübeck
75116 Paris
01 53 67 90 80
contact@excelrise-investment.com

Étude de cas

Plasto/Adhex
Logo Adhex
Description
de l’entreprise
La société PLASTO était une filiale des Laboratoires FOURNIER spécialisée dans la conception et la fabrication d’adhésifs techniques principalement pour des applications industrielles. La société réalisait un chiffre d’affaires de 85 m€ pour un EBITDA proche de 0.

Implantée sur le site historique des Laboratoires Fournier à Chenôve (Côte d’or), la société employait 450 salariés.

Considérée comme non stratégique, le Groupe Laboratoires Fournier prirent la décision de se séparer de cette filiale, avec pour enjeux principaux le sérieux et la solidité du repreneur afin d’assurer la pérennité de l’activité et des emplois.

Contexte de
l’investissement

L’équipe d’Excelrise s’est positionnée très en amont sur le dossier en approchant directement la famille propriétaire des Laboratoires Fournier afin de formuler une proposition de reprise de l’activité de Plasto, dans le cadre d’une opération de carve out.

Outre l’analyse approfondie de l’activité de l’entreprise et de ses actifs, l’enjeu principal de l’opération résidait dans le détourage des différentes fonctions de l’entreprise.

L’analyse effectuée par l’équipe Excelrise faisait ressortir les points suivants :

  • L’activité de Plasto étant considérée comme non stratégique par le groupe Fournier, elle souffrait d’une implication managériale insuffisante ;
  • Plasto bénéficiait d’un certain nombre de services rendus par le Groupe Fournier (tels que comptabilité, systèmes d’informations, gestion des ressources humaines) mais qui apparaissaient surdimensionnés et souvent inadaptés aux besoins réels d’une PME de 80 millions € de chiffre d’affaires ;
  • Pourtant les marchés sur lesquels l’entreprise était positionnée étaient en croissance sur les 5 années précédentes, entre 3 et 4% par an ;
  • Enfin l’entreprise bénéficiait d’implantations à l’international et de brevets importants.

L’approche entrepreneuriale pronée par l’équipe a séduit et rassuré les propriétaires. Un accord sur les conditions opérationnelles et financières de l’opération fut trouvé rapidement. Il comprenait un paiement upfront et un earn out. Le carve out fut donc réalisé en février 2003.

L’entreprise affichait alors un EBITDA négatif de plus de 2 m€.

Stratégie de transformation
et rôle d’Excelrise
Les premières actions entreprises par l’équipe visèrent à ajuster les frais de structure de l’entreprise tout en élaborant un plan d’implication de l’ensemble des salariés basé sur (i) la transparence totale dans le dialogue social et (ii) un intéressement direct à l’amélioration de la performance de l’entreprise.

En parallèle, de nombreuses mesures de réorganisation furent engagées telles que la mise en place de fonctions supports adaptées aux besoins et à la taille de l’entreprise (système d’information, finance, RH…) structuration de la gamme de produits, la redynamisation de la R&D, la réduction de la complexité industrielle de l’entreprise et le remplacement de certains postes clés.

Résultats
A l’issue des 12 premiers mois suivants le carve out, l’entreprise est redevenue bénéficaire.

La mobilisation de l’ensemble des salariés et l’instauration d’une culture d’entreprise davantage tournée vers l’entrepreunarait, l’autonomie et la responsabilitation a largement porté ses fruits et permis ensuite d’engager une nouvelle phase d’expansion. En particulier, les efforts consacrés dès la reprise à la R&D et à la structuration de la gamme de produits ont permis de développer avec succès les activités BtoC auprès de la grande distribution.

Cette branche d’activité fut cédée en 2010 au principal concurrent, le groupe 3M, dans d’excellentes conditions.

En 2013, le groupe (rebaptisé Adhex) fut racheté en LMBO par un membre de l’équipe Excelrise, Roland de la Brosse, qui occupait la fonction de Directeur Général et qui est actuellement le CEO de l’entreprise dont l’activité est florissante.

Contactez-nous

9 + 3 =

30 Rue de Lübeck
75116 Paris
01 53 67 90 80
contact@excelrise-investment.com